Looks like we’ll all be watching – and visiting – Brewdog for its food as well as its beer!

Brewdog turns its attention to food

Brewdog @brewdog has turned (part of) its attention to the food that it serves, seeking ‘to make the food options in our bars top notch across the country’ and ‘embarking on a new mission to step up our game and get some of the most exquisite, tasty food available to pair with your brews’.

Quite a challenge, given the high reputation of Brewdog’s beers!

The answer? Brewdog has recruited Bates to inject some ‘seriously awesome foody goodness’ into its bars -

“Bates has worked with food his whole life (really, he grew up butchering pigs in South Carolina!) and has joined the ranks of BrewDog bars to inject some seriously awesome foody goodness into our bars. He’ll be heading up food evolution across our UK bars, working on menus and training up our kitchen staff to get quality and ingredients right up to the highest possible standard.”

In Bates’ own words:

“I hail from the Deep South of the States, South Carolina to be exact.  I grew up cooking alongside pretty much every member of my family in all manners of food but in particular game, fish and BBQ (or pretty well any sort of way we could cook a hog). After growing up with food as a key part of my life, I’ve worked brewing beer, slinging pizzas, working in high end restaurants and everything in between. 

When I moved to the UK I worked with the MEATLiquor guys and in my spare time I taught butchery, beer & food pairing and brewing. I wanted new challenges, missed the wonderful world of beer, Brewdog came a-knocking and I’m a ready to get a-crackin’.

Food done mind-bendingly well

So what’s Bates planning? Simple really -

“For the most part, the bars are going to be the same bastion of beer glory they have always been, but with higher quality, more carefully thought out food options. There is a particular style of beer bars and beer dives in the States that do the typical categories of bar food, they just do them mind-bendingly well; things like custom or house ground burgers, in house charcuterie, delicious and unusual veggie options, house made sauces…the possibilities are endless. 

I’m keeping my ideas under my hat but I’d like to bring the UK food and beer standards up to match the rest of the world like New York, Chicago, Copenhagen. The best is yet to come.”

Looks like we’ll all be watching – and visiting – Brewdog for its food as well as its beer!

For more information click here